January 2015

Contribute to LenCD in 2015

This year promises to be an eventful one across the development field.  The post-2015 Sustainable Development Goals will be finalised, with the need for capacity development likely to be explicitly cited.  With this in mind, LenCD members have significant opportunities to facilitate knowledge sharing and expand the network. We are welcoming contributions from across the community to do this.
 
The LenCD case story library now has nearly 700 entries and the ever-growing document library contains a wealth of policy and research documents. Do you have any research or case stories you wish to share?
 
We start the webinar series this year discussing decentralization and capacity development at the local government level, and other webinars later in the year will discuss training, education and technology in capacity development. As we assemble the calendar for our webinar series in 2015 we are seeking insights on the latest research, as well as projects and case stories from individuals and organizations. Are you interested in hosting a webinar and sharing your experience with the network?
 
If you have some work you wish to share with the network please click here or email nadira@lencd.org


Invitations to participate

Live webinar: Local governance in the Commonwealth - existing practices and emerging trends
Thursday 22nd January 2015 16:30 GMT
Hosted by University of Birmingham International Development Department (IDD) and LenCD

Due to redefining of the role of the state, and in order to achieve Millennium Development Goals, there is an increased focus on local governance in the development arena. Decentralised local governments face new, complex and politically sensitive challenges. In this webinar, Dr Munawwar Alam will summarize country-specific issues, regional challenges and trends from the Commonwealth. Insight will be offered on the involvement of critical actors in political and capacity development and their impact on local government reforms.

Speaker: Dr Munawwar Alam

The webinar will last approximately 90 minutes and will begin at 16:30 GMT/UK Time (11:30 EST, 17:30 WAT/CET, 18:30 CAT, 19:30 EAT, 22:00 IST)
 
To register your interest for the event please click here or you can find further information on LenCD website.
Add this event to your Google or Outlook calender

 

Live Webinar: Asian Development Bank: Water Operator Partnerships: Driving Sustainable Change
Wednesday 21st January 9:00 AM (UTC+8)
Hosted by World Bank Knowledge Hubs Community of Practice

This webinar discusses methods and insights on creating effective partnerships in development. Alan Baird will use his experience at the ADB to discuss their approach to partnerships on an individual and program level. This includes discussing the importance of letting beneficiaries control the process and how to create trusting relationships. Participants will be invited to consider why these approaches have not been carried out in other development partnerships.
 
Speaker: Alan Baird, Senior Water Supply and Sanitation Specialist, Asian Development Bank

 
The webinar will begin at 1:00 UTC (09:00 Manila/Beijing/Hong Kong [UTC+8], 10:00 Seoul/Tokyo [UTC+9], 12:00 Sydney [UTC+11])

Bookmark this link and visit it on the day of the event to join
 


 

CD insights: selected case stories, research and shared experience 

Africa Capacity Report 2014: Capacity Imperatives for Regional Integration in Africa
From ACBF
 
The African Capacity Report is an annual report that consolidates information on the capacity of African nations in a cross section of areas. This year’s report focuses on capacity requirements for regional integration. Capacity building is key as regional economic communities and regional development organizations are establishing strategic frameworks for integration across the continent. Many of the ABCF’s interventions help move the regional integration agenda forward by strengthening the RECs as platforms for harmonizing policy and enhancing trade among member countries. Recommendations include: increasing capacity building in wider efforts to achieve sustainable development; emphasising the retention and use of skills, not just their acquisition; and how it is key to monitor and evaluate all efforts when building capacity.
 
Read the full report here

Measuring advocacy impact: Case study of a capacity building programme
From INTRAC
 
This case study looks at how a number of European NGOs commissioned INTRAC to provide capacity building on advocacy planning, monitoring, evaluating and reporting for partner organisations in a number of African countries. Key to success in these programmes was acknowledgement that: the M&E reporting process was not meaningful to many partner agencies and needed to be simplified; language, context and asking the right questions are crucial to ensure you are measuring the right indicators; informal relationships with partners are invaluable; including partners throughout the process and understanding the challenges they face is key; to gain buy-in from senior leadership you must first develop trust, demonstrate the value in the programme and then understand what resources and investments partners are able to contribute to capacity building initiatives.
 
Read the full report here
 
Strengthening Public Financial Management: Exploring Drivers and Effects
From World Bank: Open Knowledge Repository
 
This paper explores the relationships firstly between country characteristics (economic, political and social) and the quality of public financial management ('drivers') and secondly between the quality of public financial management systems and expected outcomes ('effects'). The main findings on the ‘drivers’ include: 40% of variation in the quality of PFM across countries can be explained by country characteristics; countries with poorer PFM quality improve at a higher rate over time: this implies (but due to limitations in data cannot prove) that structural factors play a significant role in shaping performance however the data also shows opportunities exist even in unfavourable conditions. On the ‘effects’ the paper finds that better performance can increase budget credibility but not lower deficits and there is no clear evidence on the effect it has on operational efficiency. Causes for this could be poor state capacity, measurement problems and other reasons which need to be explored further. Overall findings are consistent with the assumption that stakeholder incentives and constellations matter and that reform approaches that combine good technical collaboration and political economy considerations are more likely to succeed.
 
To read the full article click here
 
Livestock and Fish gender capacity development initiative for the small ruminant value chain in Ethiopia
From CGIAR
 
This article discusses capacity building of local partners to improve gender equity in the agricultural sector.  The CGIAR programme helps partners not only to mainstream gender but also to improve food security, nutrition and agricultural development. This articles details the process CGIAR went through in selecting, consulting with pre-assessing  partners before engaging in full evaluation of the gender capacity assessment tools and then implementing the and monitoring these tools.
 
Read the full report here