December 2014

A year in review

This year offered a variety of occasions to enrich the debate on capacity development. Negotiations on the post-2015 agenda focused on results that can be achieved only through the capacity of all partners. In Mexico the “how” of development was discussed by the Global Partnership, emphasizing the importance of knowledge, and therefore capacity, as an essential prerequisite for aid and development effectiveness.
This year also marked the 10th anniversary of LenCD. Thanks to the voluntary activity of its members, the network is still an active learning platform. Reference materials and case stories have been constantly shared through our website and newsletter, with nearly 700 case stories now available.  Four webinars have been organized as part of a pilot initiative, with more coming in the new year.  A new session of our e-learning course attracted twice as many applications as available spaces, and is about to start in January.  

Daniele Di Pillo
Co-Chair, LenCD Steering Committee


Invitations to participate

Live Webinar: Chile and its international cooperation – The practice of managing partnerships and engaging in effective knowledge sharing

Wednesday 17th December 2014 14:00 GMT
Hosted by World Bank Knowledge Hubs Community of Practice
 
Chile is emerging as a new donor country and is actively engaging in south-south and triangular cooperation.  In this webinar, staff from Chile's Social Protection agency FOSIS share insights from their experience working across sectors in Latin America and beyond. The webinar will particularly focus on programmes in youth employability and social protection in the Caribbean.

Speakers: Claudio Prim, Ghia Gajardo, Adriana Lagos, Andrés Pereira and José Cisterna

The webinar will begin at 14:00 GMT (08:00 CST09:00 EST11:00 CLST, 12:00 BRST, 15:00 CET17:00 EAT,19:30 IST)

Bookmark this link to attend the event
Add this event to your Google or Outlook calender

 

Live webinar: Local governance in the Commonwealth - existing practices and emerging trends
Thursday 22nd January 2015 16:30 GMT
Hosted by University of Birmingham International Development Department (IDD) and LenCD

Due to redefining of the role of the state, and in order to achieve Millennium Development Goals, there is an increased focus on local governance in the development arena. Decentralised local governments face new, complex and politically sensitive challenges. In this webinar, Dr Munawwar Alam will summarize country-specific issues, regional challenges and trends from the Commonwealth. Insight will be offered on the involvement of critical actors in political and capacity development and their impact on local government reforms.

Speaker: Dr Munawwar Alam

The webinar will last approximately 90 minutes and will begin at 16:30 GMT/UK Time (11:30 EST17:30WAT/CET, 18:30 CAT, 19:30 EAT, 22:00 IST)
 
To register your interest for the event please click here or you can find further information on LenCD website.
Add this event to your Google or Outlook calender

 


 

CD insights: selected case stories, research and shared experience 

A new paradigm for Capacity Development
From Devex

In this webinar (recorded on 18 November) Deloitte Consulting LLP present a new approach to capacity development which focuses on “sustainable performance improvement”. They argue that there is a need to move away from outdated practices based on individual skills and training which do not offer a clear, systematic way to build capacity. The new approach, CYPRESS, which stands for Capacity Performance, Results, and Sustainability, provides a framework that allows more focus on maintainable, measurable performance.  Two representatives from Deloitte discuss how to make this approach the “new normal” by influencing stakeholders, empowering counterparts and facilitating change management.

To watch the webinar click here or to read more about the CYPRESS approach click here

 

Strengthening National Capacity to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria 
From UNDP Global Fund Partnership

This case study outlines how capacity building in key institutions has helped Zambia make remarkable progress in tackling HIV, TB and Malaria. A partnership between the UNDP, The Global Fund and the Ministry of Health in Zambia (MOH) has strengthened health systems and increased access to care and treatment. This has resulted in significant decreases in diagnosis and deaths from all three diseases. The report discusses how the UNDP, acting as the manager of the funds has supported ongoing healthcare programmes whilst simultaneously implementing an ambitious capacity development programme. Strong political commitment, effective collaboration between the UNDP and MOH and the existence of complimentary programmes in other departments have been important to success. As a result of these activities, the Zambian MOH is now in a strong position to begin directly managing funds itself.  Drawing upon these lessons, it is suggested that other countries should consider including capacity development efforts in applications for Global Health Funds.

Read the full case study here

 
Click here to read about a similar case of UNDP partnerships and system strengthening in Zimbabwe
 

Capacity building for social protection
From GSDRC

This literature review identifies recommendations and insights for developing sustainable government capacity to deliver social protection programmes.  Recommendations coming out of recent research and practitioner experience include developing mechanisms for improving coordination among ministries, sectors, and levels of government, as well as between partner governments and donors; improving evidence and data to support political will and dispel myths; supporting and guiding national dialogues to maintain the right political climate; legislative reform to construct a framework for social protection programmes; balancing centralisation with local service delivery; and ensuring long-term stable funding.

Read the full report here

 

Public Service Motivation
From the UNDP Global Centre for Public Service Excellence

Years of salary reductions, insufficient equipment, dysfunctional budgets and increasing pressure to perform have led to major problems with public service motivation in many countries. This report outlines ways in which countries can motivate staff and avoid capacity erosion.  These include: linking incentives and motivation to the organisation’s objectives; remembering that people with so-called 'pro-social values' may be attracted to the private sector as well as the public sector; and making use of intrinsic motivation instead of relying on extrinsic incentives which can actually demotivate staff.
 
Read the full report here